Monday, August 28, 2017

Kathy recommends Chapter One

Looking for something to read?  My favorite titles of the year so far are August Snow and Behind Her Eyes.


August Snow by Stephen Mack Jones is a classic private eye story that takes place in Detroit and is written by a Detroiter.  Behind Her Eyes by Sarah Pinborough is a psychological thriller, ala Girl on the Train, with a big twist at the end.  It has it’s very own hashtag on social media:  #wtfthatending! 

Both titles are recommended for adult audiences.

For other adult reading recommendations, join librarians Kate, Meghan and myself at CHAPTER ONE on Wednesday, September 13 at 7 pm in the Main Library Auditorium.  We will discuss a curated list of twenty plus titles, both fiction and non-fiction, and print and audio.  We will also give a sneak preview of upcoming hot reads for Fall! Register here.



Tuesday, August 8, 2017

Kara recommends "All the Ugly and Wonderful Things"


This book is not for everyone, but I found it to be the best book I have read so far this year.  The writing was beautiful, and the story and characters were touching and disturbing at the same time.  This would be a great book for book clubs to read, as it would make for a great discussion.  I recommend this book for adult readers.

Tuesday, July 25, 2017

Gretchen recommends "Takeover"


Takeover by Lisa Black is the first book in a series featuring Theresa MacLean in a tense hostage situation.  Like the author, Theresa is a forensic scientist.  She is swept up in the drama when her fiancĂ© becomes a hostage in a takeover at the Federal Reserve Bank related to a recent murder investigation.  Hostage negotiations take place from the public library across the street from the Federal Reserve.  The thriller features several plot turns with an unexpected twist at the end.  Set in the sweltering Cleveland summer heat, this is a quick mystery read for adults.

Saturday, July 15, 2017

Lisa recommends "Real Friends"

For anyone who has ever had a hard time making friends, dealt with cliques, or struggled through friendships, this graphic novel memoir is for you.  Shannon Hale shares her experience with elementary friendships, from feeling like the odd one out, to those moments of high anxiety, to making friends who accept you as you are.  I highly recommend picking this one up, no matter what your age is.

P.S. I even gave this one to my mom to read!

Friday, July 14, 2017

Emily recommends "The Good Widow"


If you’re looking for a quick, easy thriller to read this summer, I recommend “The Good Widow” by Liz Fenton and Lisa Steinke.

Elementary school teacher Jacqueline “Jacks” Morales’s marriage was far from perfect, but even in its ups and downs it was predictable, familiar. Or at least she thought it was…until two police officers showed up at her door with devastating news. Her husband of eight years, the one who should have been on a business trip to Kansas, had suffered a fatal car accident in Hawaii. And he wasn’t alone.

For Jacks, laying her husband to rest was hard. But it was even harder to think that his final moments belonged to another woman—one who had left behind her own grieving and bewildered fiancĂ©. Nick, just as blindsided by the affair, wants answers. So he suggests that he and Jacks search for the truth together, retracing the doomed lovers’ last days in paradise.

Now, following the twisting path of that fateful road, Jacks is learning that nothing is ever as it seems. Not her marriage. Not her husband. And most certainly not his death…

This one definitely kept me reading! It’s not an overly complicated book (perfect as a beach read) but the suspense and Hawaiian setting were solid.

Recommended for older teens and adults. Also recommended for fans of Joy Fielding, Jennifer Weiner, and Nicci French.




Wednesday, June 28, 2017

Michelle recommends "I Found You"


Looking for the next suspenseful, psychological fiction to add to your reading list? Check out I Found You by Lisa Jewell. Sometimes reading a multiple character storyline can get tedious, but Lisa Jewell develops the characters and their stories in an intriguing and balanced way.

      We start with a single mom, Alice, that comes across a man near her home who has lost his memory. His memory of everything; from his name, to his likes and dislikes, to why he ended up on the beach in front of Alice’s home. So she decides to welcome him into her chaotic life and home, then tries to help him recover and rediscover his life.
      
      There is also a young newlywed, Lily, in a suburb of London that has reported her husband missing. Her husband has disappeared somewhere between leaving work and getting home, but she does not feel the police are not working quickly enough to help her find him. She is alone, new to the country and anxious to find her devoted husband.

      And then, we get to go back to 1993 where a family of four is vacationing in Alice’s town when they meet an eager young man, that is not quite trusted by everyone in the family.

It is clear that something terrible happened in 1993, but it’s interesting to try to figure out how the memory-less man and Lily’s husband are connected, both to each other and the story in 1993. If you enjoyed Paula Hawkins Girl on the Train, give this one a try.

Recommended for Adults.

Wednesday, June 21, 2017

Emily recommends "Black Rabbit Hall"


This gothic-style tale combines an old, rambling English manor house, an eccentric family, and dark secrets into one intriguingly twisted tale…

Lorna is determined to be married within the grand, ivy-covered walls of Pencraw Hall, known as Black Rabbit Hall among the locals. But as she’s drawn deeper into the overgrown grounds, half-buried memories of her mother begin to surface and Lorna soon finds herself ensnared within the manor’s labyrinthine history, overcome with an insatiable need for answers about her own past and that of the once-happy family whose memory still haunts the estate.

An atmospheric and intriguing tale, this would be a good read for fans of Susanna Kearsley, Daphne du Maurier, or Kate Morton.  

Recommended for older teens and adults.